Information


ENGELBERG DIALOGUES 2018: Unlimited Migration?

The pros and cons of migration are a point of contention in Europe at the moment. For some immigration is seen as a source of economic prosperity and a promising solution to the problems linked to an ageing population. For others, however, migration implies social tourism and welfare loss.

And still others fear that immigration will cost them their jobs and threaten their cultural identity leading to revolt as evidenced by the Brexit vote. In this context, the question then arises as to whether immigration should be controlled and, if so, by what means.

In an attempt to find new paths out of the dense undergrowth of conflicting arguments and positions, the Academia Engelberg Foundation will be hosting the ENGELBERG DIALOGUES on Migration from 14 to 17 October 2018 in Engelberg, Switzerland.

The aim of the Dialogues is to provide a platform for an international audience of academics, businesspeople and policymakers to grapple with the various viewpoints and perspectives in regard to migration.

The ENGELBERG DIALOGUES will be held in English and be composed of three elements:

1.     A two-day Autumn Academy for young researchers (i.e., graduate students and postdocs) from different academic fields and countries,

2.     A half-day Workshop, in which academics, businesspeople, policymakers and an interested public are invited to share their views in a lively discourse,

3.     A one-day Forum, in which the findings from the previous days and the inputs from an international keynote speaker and a panel of renowned experts will be further developed.

The results and findings of the ENGELBERG DIALOGUES are intended to provide a lasting contribution to the ongoing migration debate.

The program of the Dialogues also includes a panel discussion conducted in German on the demographics of the Engelberg Valley which aims to link the work of the Academia Engelberg with the local region.

The public discourse and interaction that the ENGELBERG DIALOGUES provide, offer a creative environment and an ideal platform for forging new contacts and fostering intergenerational exchange.

 

Donators and Partners

Following a long period of fruitful cooperation, a close partnership was agreed on in June 2007. The Collegium Helveticum is an institution jointly borne by the University of Zurich and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (‘ETH’), Zurich.

The ETH Board is responsible for the strategic leadership of the ETH domain and assumes the supervision of its institutions. Its close relationship with the ETH Council has contributed to the successful continuation of Academia Engelberg Foundation since 2000.

The Foundation promotes research into the connecting human fundamentals of science. Academia Engelberg Foundation and the Foundation for Basic Research in Human Sciences have entered into a cooperation agreement for the period 2011 to 2015.

Helvetia is a quality-oriented comprehensive insurance company with over 150 years of experience. Academia Engelberg Foundation is convinced it will be able to use important synergies from the partnership starting in 2015.

A partnership with the University of Lucerne has existed since summer 2013. Since 2016 we have also a parthership with the Faculty of Economics and Management of the University of Lucerne. Through these partnerships, synergies are used and joint projects are tested and realized. The University of Lucerne currently consists of three faculties: the faculties for Theology, Culture and Social Sciences, and Law.

In 2014, Academia Engelberg Foundation formed a partnership with the University of Lund in Sweden. The University was founded in 1666 but general studies, predecessor of today’s University, already existed in 1425.

The focus of the Foundation is the promotion of organizations in the areas of culture and arts, architecture, design, music, sports, education, and science. It has been a partner of Academia Engelberg Foundation since 2014.

Information


Programm - ENGELBERG DIALOGUES

Das Für und Wider der Migration ist derzeit ein Streitpunkt in Europa. Für die Einen wird die Einwanderung als eine Quelle des wirtschaftlichen Wohlstands und als eine vielversprechende Lösung für die Probleme im Zusammenhang mit einer alternden Bevölkerung angesehen.

Für andere bedeutet Migration Sozialtourismus und Wohlfahrtsverlust. Und wieder andere fürchten, dass die Einwanderung Arbeitsplätze koste und die kulturelle Identität bedrohe, was zu einer Revolte führen würde, wie das Brexit-Votum beweist. In diesem Zusammenhang stellt sich die Frage, ob die Einwanderung kontrolliert werden sollte und, wenn ja, mit welchen Mitteln.

Um aus dem dichten Dickicht widerstreitender Argumente und Positionen neue Wege zu finden, veranstaltet die Stiftung Academia Engelberg vom 14. bis 17. Oktober 2018 in Engelberg, Schweiz, die ENGELBERG DIALOGUES zum Thema Migration.

Ziel der ENGELBERG DIALOGUES ist es, einem internationalen Publikum aus Akademikern, Unternehmern und Politikern eine Plattform zu bieten, sich mit den verschiedenen Blickwinkeln und Perspektiven der Migration auseinanderzusetzen.

Die ENGELBERG DIALOGUES werden ausschliesslich in Englisch gehalten und bestehen aus drei Elementen:

1. Eine zweitägige Autumn Academy für junge Forscher (d. H. Doktoranden und Postdocs) aus verschiedenen akademischen Bereichen und Ländern,

2. Ein halbtägiger Workshop, bei dem Akademiker, Geschäftsleute, politische Entscheidungsträger und eine interessierte Öffentlichkeit eingeladen werden, um ihre Ansichten in einem lebhaften Diskurs zu teilen,

3. Ein eintägiges Forum, in dem die Ergebnisse der vergangenen Tage und die Beiträge eines internationalen Hauptredners sowie eines Gremiums renommierter Experten weiter entwickelt werden.

Die Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse der ENGELBERG DIALOGUES sollen die laufende Migrationsdebatte nachhaltig begleiten.

Zum Programm gehört auch eine Podiumsdiskussion zur Demographie des Engelbergertals, die die Arbeit der Academia Engelberg mit der Region verbinden soll.

Der öffentliche Diskurs und die Interaktion der ENGELBERG DIALOGUES, bieten ein kreatives Umfeld und eine ideale Plattform, um neue Kontakte zu knüpfen und den intergenerationellen Austausch zu fördern

Donatoren und Partner

Nach einer längeren Phase der fruchtbaren Zusammenarbeit wurde im Juni 2007 eine enge Partnerschaft vereinbart. Das Collegium Helveticum ist ein von Universität Zürich und ETH Zürich gemeinsam getragenes Institut.

Der ETH-Rat ist verantwortlich für die strategische Führung des ETH-Bereichs und übernimmt die Aufsicht über dessen Institutionen. Die enge Partnerschaft zum ETH-Rat seit dem Jahr 2000 trägt zu einem erfolgreichen Fortbestehen der Stiftung Academia Engelberg bei.

Die Helvetia ist eine qualitätsorientierte Allbranchenversicherung mit über 150 Jahren Erfahrung. Die Stiftung Academia Engelberg ist überzeugt, durch die Partnerschaft ab 2015 wichtige Synergien nutzen zu können.

2014 ist die Stiftung Academia Engelberg eine Partnerschaft mit der Universität Lund aus Schweden eingegangen. Die Universität wurde im Jahre 1666 gegründet, jedoch bestand schon 1425 das Studium generale, ein Vorgänger der heutigen Universität.

Die Stiftung fördert die Erforschung der verbindenden humanen Grundlagen der Wissenschaften. Die Stiftung Academia Engelberg und die Stiftung Humanwissenschaftliche Grundlagenforschung haben für die Jahre 2011 bis 2015 eine Zusammenarbeit vereinbart.

Seit Sommer 2013 besteht eine Partnerschaft mit der Universität Luzern. Und seit 2016 auch eine partnerschaft mit der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Luzern. Mit diesen Partnerschaften werden Synergien genutzt und gemeinsame Projekte geprüft und realisiert. Die Universität Luzern besteht derzeit aus drei Fakultäten, nämlich der Theologischen, der Kultur- und Sozi-alwissenschaftlichen und der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät.

Im Fokus der Stiftung steht die Förderung von Organisationen in den Bereichen Kultur und Kunst, Architektur, Design, Musik, Sport, Bildung und Wissenschaft. Sie ist seit 2014 Partner der Stiftung Academia Engelberg.

Medienpartner