Evolution biological Aspects

Wednesday, 14. October 2009 | 14:00 Uhr


Josef Reichholf


Technical University Munich


Prof. Josef Reichholf from the University of Munich examined the question of why two species of primates which show close similarity to mankind bear important differences when it comes to aggressive behavior. According to him, the difference originates from the food supply. Sufficient food seems to make species more peaceful.

Josef Reichholf

He studied biology, chemistry, geography and tropical medicine at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich and earned his Dr. rer. nat. in 1969.

Since 1974, he heads the Ornithology Section at the National Zoological Collection in Munich and directs the Faunistics and Ecology Department, and since 1995 the Vertebrates Department.

Josef Reichholf is Honorary Professor of the TU Munich and member of the Ecology Commission of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences. He has published a wide range of scientific books that have been released in 16 languages.

Donators and Partners

The ETH Board is responsible for the strategic leadership of the ETH domain and assumes the supervision of its institutions. Its close relationship with the ETH Council has contributed to the successful continuation of Academia Engelberg Foundation since 2000.

The Foundation promotes research into the connecting human fundamentals of science. Academia Engelberg Foundation and the Foundation for Basic Research in Human Sciences have entered into a cooperation agreement for the period 2011 to 2015.

Helvetia is a quality-oriented comprehensive insurance company with over 150 years of experience. Academia Engelberg Foundation is convinced it will be able to use important synergies from the partnership starting in 2015.

A partnership with the University of Lucerne has existed since summer 2013. Since 2016 we have also a parthership with the Faculty of Economics and Management of the University of Lucerne. Through these partnerships, synergies are used and joint projects are tested and realized. The University of Lucerne currently consists of three faculties: the faculties for Theology, Culture and Social Sciences, and Law.