Introduction to the conference

Wednesday, 15. October 2008 | 11:00 Uhr


Martina Weiss


Programme director

Martina Weiss

She studied Biology at the Biozentrum of the University of Basel from 1987 until 1991. From 1992 until 1995, she earned her doctorate in natural sciences from the Institute of Microbiology of ETH Zurich. In the years 1996/97, she received a master’s degree in science & technology studies (distinction) from the Science Studies Unit of the University of Edinburgh.

From 1997 until 2002, she was programme manager and scientific director of the Collegium Helveticum in Zurich.

From 2002 until 2005, Martina Weiss managed SwissCore in Brussels. This is the Swiss Contact Office for Research and Higher Education, the liaison office of the Swiss National Science Foundation, with the support of State Secretariat for Education and Research, and partner of Eurosearch.
From 2005 until 2008, she was managing director of Weiss SYNAPSIS and worked in the areas of consulting and implementations of national and international science and innovation policies.

Martina Weiss was appointed to the new office in February 2008.

Donators and Partners

The ETH Board is responsible for the strategic leadership of the ETH domain and assumes the supervision of its institutions. Its close relationship with the ETH Council has contributed to the successful continuation of Academia Engelberg Foundation since 2000.

The Foundation promotes research into the connecting human fundamentals of science. Academia Engelberg Foundation and the Foundation for Basic Research in Human Sciences have entered into a cooperation agreement for the period 2011 to 2015.

Helvetia is a quality-oriented comprehensive insurance company with over 150 years of experience. Academia Engelberg Foundation is convinced it will be able to use important synergies from the partnership starting in 2015.

A partnership with the University of Lucerne has existed since summer 2013. Since 2016 we have also a parthership with the Faculty of Economics and Management of the University of Lucerne. Through these partnerships, synergies are used and joint projects are tested and realized. The University of Lucerne currently consists of three faculties: the faculties for Theology, Culture and Social Sciences, and Law.