Pervasive Nanotechnology

Thursday, 16. October 2003 | 8:30 Uhr


Heinrich Rohrer


Nobel Laureate


Dr. Rohrer sketches scenarios that could arise from the combination of nanotechnology and Pervasive Computing. The result is pervasive nanotechnology, which constantly and ubiquitously engages in gathering “input” and generating “output”. Dr. Rohrer laid an essential foundation stone for nanotechnology with his discovery of the scanning tunnel microscope.

Download the speech of Heinrich Rohrer

Heinrich Rohrer

Heinrich Rohrer (*1933 in St. Gallen) studied Physics at the Swiss Federal College of Technology (ETH) in Zürich. In 1960, Doctorate on Superconductivity. From 1961 to 1963 Rutgers University in New Jersey. From 1963 to 1997 at the IBM Research Laboratories in Rüschlikon (Switzerland).


His principal research areas were superconductivity, multicritical phenomena (including Kondo systems, antiferromagnetism) and tunnelling microscopy. In 1974/75 sabbatical year at the University of California in Santa Barbara. In 1996 Nobel Prize for Physics for the construction of the first scanning tunnelling microscope.

Donators and Partners

The ETH Board is responsible for the strategic leadership of the ETH domain and assumes the supervision of its institutions. Its close relationship with the ETH Council has contributed to the successful continuation of Academia Engelberg Foundation since 2000.

The Foundation promotes research into the connecting human fundamentals of science. Academia Engelberg Foundation and the Foundation for Basic Research in Human Sciences have entered into a cooperation agreement for the period 2011 to 2015.

Helvetia is a quality-oriented comprehensive insurance company with over 150 years of experience. Academia Engelberg Foundation is convinced it will be able to use important synergies from the partnership starting in 2015.

A partnership with the University of Lucerne has existed since summer 2013. Since 2016 we have also a parthership with the Faculty of Economics and Management of the University of Lucerne. Through these partnerships, synergies are used and joint projects are tested and realized. The University of Lucerne currently consists of three faculties: the faculties for Theology, Culture and Social Sciences, and Law.