Brochure, ‘Violence in Human Society’ (in German)


If we look at our evolution from the early hominids to modern man, the Homo sapiens sapiens, it seems plausible that the hominids lived probably peacefully together in small, distant groups. Violence might not have played a major role. This changed dramatically about 10’000 years ago with the appearance of modern Homo sapiens sapiens in connection with the beginning of cattle breeding and cultivation of land followed by urbanization.

During this period of our evolution, mankind developed aggression and violence. It also became clear that man, in contrary to the highly developed animals, has lost the genetically determined control of aggressive behaviour. The fact that there are various forms of regulation of violence in modern human beings is predominantly due to cultural achievements.

Summary of <a href=””>2009 Conference</a> findings with supplementary comments (in German). <a href=”” target=”_blank”>Open PDF</a>  or go to<a href=””> order form</a>.

Donators and Partners

The ETH Board is responsible for the strategic leadership of the ETH domain and assumes the supervision of its institutions. Its close relationship with the ETH Council has contributed to the successful continuation of Academia Engelberg Foundation since 2000.

The Foundation promotes research into the connecting human fundamentals of science. Academia Engelberg Foundation and the Foundation for Basic Research in Human Sciences have entered into a cooperation agreement for the period 2011 to 2015.

Helvetia is a quality-oriented comprehensive insurance company with over 150 years of experience. Academia Engelberg Foundation is convinced it will be able to use important synergies from the partnership starting in 2015.

A partnership with the University of Lucerne has existed since summer 2013. Since 2016 we have also a parthership with the Faculty of Economics and Management of the University of Lucerne. Through these partnerships, synergies are used and joint projects are tested and realized. The University of Lucerne currently consists of three faculties: the faculties for Theology, Culture and Social Sciences, and Law.